Product Review: As I Am Cowash, Leave-in and Twist cream…#FAIL!!

Ugh! I do not even know where to start. I am beyond irritated. Scroll all the way down to the end of the post to read “my thoughts”.

I purchased all 3 items at Sally Beauty supply

Coconut CoWash

coconut-cowash-cleansing-conditioner

Price: $7.99 for 16 oz

Ingredients: Aqueous (Water, Aqua Purificada, Purified) Extracts: Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) and Citrus Reticulata (Tangerine)¹, Cetyl Alcohol², Cetrimonium Chloride, Cetearyl Alcohol², PEG-40 Castor Oil, Stearlkonium chloride, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil², Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil¹, Phytosterols¹, Serenoa Serrulata Fruit Extract¹, Quaternium-18, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance/Parfum, Limonene, Methylisothiazolinone

Product claim : 

  • Gently cleanses hair and scalp
  • Removes product residue
  • Preserve moisture

As I Am Coconut CoWash is the way to cleanse your hair most of the time. This light no-suds conditioning cream gently spreads easily throughout your hair and removes residue including all of the things you’ve used to style and maintain your coils and curls.

 Coconut Cowash is different from any other because it contains a special blend of natural ingredients that work to promote healthy hair growth from the follicular level. Maintains moisture, adds more moisture and helps hair retain moisture until your next cleanse.

 Makes detangling a breeze and rinses easily from hair. Gentle enough for daily use and is safe for color-treated hair.

Leave-In Conditioner

as i am leave in conditioner

Price: $10.49 for 8oz

Ingredients: Aqueous (Water, Aqua Purificada, Purified) Extracts: Cocos Nucifera (Coconut)¹ and Phyllanthus emblica (Amla)¹, Cetyl Alcohol¹, Citric Acid¹, Phytosterols¹, Serenoa Serrulata Fruit (Saw Palmetto) Extract¹, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract¹, Propylene Glycol, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract¹, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Extract¹, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane) Stalk Extract¹, Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root¹, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance/Parfum, Limonene

Product Claim:

  • Eases wet combing
  • Helps strengthen hair
  • Seals the cuticle layer

A great leave-in is a vital first step in styling. Smooth it on after cleansing and conditioning. Your finished style will be softer shinier and more manageable.

As I Am Leave-In Conditioner keeps tangles away and provides a great foundation for natural styling. It contains an organic strengthening agent, plus natural ingredients that promote hair growth.

Twist Defining Cream

51nnGnz68FL._SY300_

Price: $21.99 for 16oz

Ingredients: Aqueous (Water, Aqua Purificada, Purified) Extracts: Cocos Nucifera (Coconut)¹ and Phyllanthus Emblica (Amla)¹ and Citrus Reticulata (Tangerine)¹ and Beta Vulgaris (Beet) Root¹, Glycerin¹, Acetamide MEA, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil1, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil¹, Triethanolamine, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil¹, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)¹, Carbomer, Phytosterols², Disodium Ethylene Dicocamide PEG-15 Disulfate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Behenyl Alcohol¹, Glyceryl Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Trideceth-12, TBHQ, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Potassium Sorbate, Fragrance/Parfum, Limonene. Source: 1-Natural; 2-Canola Oil derived

Product Claim:

  • Maximizes smoothness
  • Produces great shine
  • Long lasting definition
  • Hydrates dry hair
  • Minimizes frizz

As I Am Twist Defining Cream is made especially for highly textured hair with nurturing natural oils, plus an organic extract that provides the ultimate in moisturizing. It is used for Twists and Twist Out hairstyles.

My Thoughts

Never again will I purchase from this line!! I hated my experience so much that I return all 3 to the store. The cowash did not remove build up. I was unable to detangle with it and after I washed it out my hair felt stripped and dry. The leave-in did nothing for me at all. I found myself reapplying 2-3 times a day and nothing… I mean nothing. No moisture what so ever. O and do not let me get started on the twist defining cream… That needs a paragraph of its own.

This product is the one that I detest the most. I spent the evening making sure my hair was clean and soft by doing a mud wash and deep conditioning.. There is nothing worst then using a styler that messes everything up. I used my trusty CJ smoothing lotion as a leave-in base for my 2 strand flat twist. My hair was detangled and felt o so soft. As I started to add the twist defining cream I noticed that little white balls (looked like buggers) started to form in my hair. UGH! When I tried to part my hair to start flat twisting a section I also noticed that my hair was starting to feel like rubber and felt very fragile. I really thought that if I manipulated that section too much that the strands would snap. The cream has no slip at all in my opinion. I ended up doing  just 2 strand twist in the back. I was really hoping that the white balls would somehow disappear or melt into my hair while drying….NOT!!

Here is a picture of my hair this morning. I ended up with flaky, dusty, chalky looking hair. No Bueno!

as i am

 Rating for all 3 products: ♥♥♥♥♥ 0 out of 5

Posted on January 25, 2013, in Products Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I am just shocked that this product did any thing for your hair.. I have been using this product for a while and I have never experienced any of these problems. I absolutely love this stuff, and this product has made my hair grow…

  2. I just purchased the Curly Jelly hoping to get a product to give me better hold for my twists; I felt the olive oil gel was a bit drying to my hair…HATE HATE HATE THIS! My hair was so dry! =(

  3. I personally like the “some” of the AS I AM products. However, they do not play well with other products, only with each other. That’s why you experienced the white balls after using the CJ smoothing…at least you were able to return and get a refund.

  4. I wouldn’t be so quick to dismiss Qhemet Biologics Amla and Olive Heavy Cream. I use it with great success. The As I Am on the other hand, was a total fail for me as well.

  5. Oh, no! I’m sorry that it didn’t work for you, Valerie 😦
    Btdubs, you’re protein sensitive, right? I spot amla in the leave in and the twisting cream, which is an Ayurvedic powder. Many of the Ayurvedic powders can act like proteins, from what I’ve researched. Apparently, the tannic acid that occurs naturally within them gives them that strengthening property.

Leave a Reply

