Product Review: SheaMoisture African Black Soap Shampoo

Where can this be purchased? I bought mine at Walgreens. Also available at Walgreens.com

Price: $9.99 for 12oz

Ingredients: Deionized Water , Decyl Glucoside (Sugar Beets) , African Black Soap , Salicylic Acid , Salix Alba (Willow Bark) Extract , Melia Azadirachta Seed Oil (Neem) , Charcoal Powder , Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Oil , Simmondsia Chinensis Seed Oil (Jojoba) , Butyrospermum Parkii Oil (Shea) , Aloe Vera Leaf Juice , Vitamin E , Rosemary Extract , Plantain Extract

Product Claim: This shampoo helps regulate sebum production while alleviating itching and flaking. Treats dandruff, eczema & psoriasis.

    • Plantain enzyme: Helps to alleviate itchiness and irritation
    • Tea tree: Removes buildup for enhanced shine and volume
    • Willow bark extract: Exfoliates and detoxifies hair and scalp
    • Ethically traded ingredients, sustainably produced
    • No parabens, phthalates, paraffin, gluten, propylene glycol, mineral oil, synthetic fragrance, PABA, synthetic color, DEA, animal ingredients or sulfates
    • Cruelty free, no animal testing
    • Color safe, organic

My Thoughts

Before I go into it, I want to say that I swapped this on a forum for another product. ;( Dont ask me why.. I just really wanted to try the product I swapped it for.

I loveeee the smell of this shampoo! To me it smells like bubble gum.  It did what it states.. Relieve itchiness.. dandruff. Actually thats why I bought it because for some odd reason my scalp is ALWAYS itchy. I mean I finish washing with any shampoo, co wash or clay wash and I’m still itchy. Its not a crazy “omg I am gonna rip my hair out” but its annoying.  Anyway, I felt like this shampoo helped that situation.

Regarding removing build up.. Eh.. I did not notice a difference. It’s a shampoo, what can I say. Well I will say this. Your hair will feel clean. Not a dry stripped feeling, but definitely clean. The type of clean that I need to follow with a conditioner. I personally don’t think its very moisturizing like my CON Arganoil Shampoo…hmm that’s probably why I decided to swap it.

Overall I would give this shampoo a 4 out of 5 ♥’s just because I wish it was just a tad bit moisturizing. Would I recommend this? Yes I would. Who knows its might feel moisturizing on your hair. And hey..its very affordable. One more thing, save your receipt, if you don’t like it return it.

Rating:♥♥♥♥

Posted on November 10, 2012, in Products Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

