HairStory: Kimba Azore

Describe yourself in 100 words or less.

I’m eccentric.  I love writing, love traveling, food and music.  I wear clothing that is different than the norm of where I live and natural hair was a choice for me because that was who I was the whole time—different.

How long have you been natural and why did you chose to go natural?

I started transitioning in December 2009.  I BCed on October 31st 2010.  I chose to become natural because that was in my spirit for years prior.  Before, I had no idea how to become natural or be successful with natural hair.  In 2009, I started watching YouTube, reading natural hair blogs, and learning that I had support in the Natural Hair community for my decision.  Since then, I have not thought about turning back. 

Did you transition or big chop?

I transitioned for a little while…almost a year…then on the morning of my birthday in 2010, I grabbed a pair of scissors and cut off all of my relaxed ends.  I was ready for a new start upon the celebration of my turning another year older.  It was one of the best decisions that I’ve made in my life. 

How did others (family, friends, colleagues) react to your decision to go natural? What was your response to them? How do they feel now?

I was natural previously in my life…this was almost 10 years ago.  I did not have positive reception from my family and friends when I first chose to become natural.  The second time around, everyone was supportive.  Family members were asking me how they can get their hair like mine, my friends all love my hair and support my natural hair endeavors and a lot of my co-workers transitioned to natural at the same time as me.  There is just a lot of support now that I am grateful for. 

What is/was your biggest hair challenge/obstacle and how have you dealt with it?

My hair is pretty thin/fine and I want to achieve thicker looks.  At first, it was troublesome and I eventually had hair envy of those with thicker textures.  I then found ways that I could make my fine hair seem thicker by roller sets, sometimes blowing out, and finger picking.  I just learned that there are other ways that I can achieve a look; I just need to learn what’s best for my type of hair.

What do you love most about your natural hair and/or about being natural?

I enjoy being versatile and being myself.  The day that I became fully natural was a day of liberation for me.  I felt like Kimba, being able to be myself is the thing that I love the most about being natural. 

What is your current regimen?

My regimen is pretty simple.  I wash/condition on Saturdays.  I usually wear my hair in protective styles during the week and while I change styles, I ensure to finger detangle and rid my curls of shed hairs.  I moisturize when needed using the LOC method and I “Henna” at least once a month. 

What is the product “you cant live without”?

I cannot live without the Avocado and Sunflower Whipped Hair Puddin by Isabis Naturals.  That product is a great sealant and it provides so much stretch in my hair.  I love it.

What is your “go to” style (share a picture of it, if you have one!)?

I love the Roll Tuck and Pin.  I usually do this while securing a pompadour or curly bangs on my left side of my head.  A lot of my natural haired friends call me Miss Protective Style because I love wearing my hair in PS. 

*How often do you cut/trim your hair? How do you cut it (salon, DIY, straight, curly, in twists)? If you go to a salon, would you recommend it (if yes, please feel free to give the name and location to help other naturals in your area!).

I try to trim every 6 months.  I usually have my hair trimmed in a salon.  My stylist does an awesome job with my hair when trimming or just giving me a little condition or styling session.  He is the most knowledgeable stylist that I know where all things hair is concerned and has taught me a lot of things that I write about in my blog.  My stylist is The John Washington of La Salon One On One in New Iberia, LA.  He can be contacted atinnovatingconcepts@yahoo.com

Do you have a “hair inspiration”? If so who?

My grandma is my biggest hair inspiration.  She passed last month and during this time, I’ve been reflecting on how much she has been an inspiration to me to become natural.  She was always very Afrocentric and taught me that our natural hair and skin are beautiful.  She instilled inside of me—from very young—that our natural beauty is beautiful.  I am happy that she saw me natural before she passed.  She also had a beautiful collection of “church hats” that inspired my style. 

I also want some Chaka Khan hair.  LOL.  Since I was a kid, I would look at her album covers—especially the ones with Rufus, and think, I want big hair like that. 

I love Tracee Ellis Ross’ hair too.  I would watch ‘Girlfriends’ and just drool over her thick, natural mane. 

Where can we find you online?

I host a blog at www.fleurdecurl.com.  I am also on Twitter @Fleurdecurl and Facebook:www.facebook.com/fleurdecurl.

What advice would you give someone who is contemplating going natural and/or becoming discouraged with their natural journey?

I learned that when embarking on any journey—especially your natural hair journey—you have to practice patience.  Your hair will not be what you want it to be over night.  You have to learn about your hair, re-learn things about your hair, and learn things about yourself and your habits.  Once you get a good understanding about these things, establish a good regimen, and try to stick with it.  Being patient will help you to achieve a wonderful head of hair. 

“She said all the things you ask
You will know someday
But you have got to live
In a patient
 way
God put us here by fate
And by fate that means
Better days…”  Better Days by Dianne Reeves

**********************************************************

Want to be a guest on Curls2Envy? Please click HERE.

Posted on October 3, 2012, in Curls2Envy Guest. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

