Revisiting: Kinky Curly Curling Custard

This is the first gel I tried when I went natural 3 years ago. I started out using it out with KCNT and it was a no-go.

I stopped using it and gave it to my mother. It wasn’t working for me back then. Took forever to dry and was super finicky. My curls looked good but looked weighed down.

Recently I’ve been itching to try out other gel options since I didn’t want to use up all my KbN Gel. While lurking on the swap boards I came a across a curly selling a brand new 16 oz for $10.WHAT!! o yes. I got it. Thats a great deal considering the 16 oz cost $29.99 and the 8oz $17…yea exactly.

The consistency of this gel is of snot. literally. The smell is sweet and lingers a bit.

I applied this gel on wet hair over Oyin Hair Dew 😦 (I’ll explain in a bit) & sealed with my Shea butter mix

I applied a lil Curl Junkie CIAB after the gel and diffused up to 90-95% dry on low speed/warm heat. The rest I let air dry. I make sure my hair is completely dry before pineappling and going to bed. Pineappled with a sating scrunchy under a satin bonnet.

In the morning I took the scrunchy off and my hair looked like this..lol

After Scrunching out the crunch with some Jane Carter’s Nourish&Shine and shaking my head in every direction, I got this.

Not bad..   but my hair didn’t feel moisturized like I wanted it to. Yea… I ended up swapping the Oyin Hair Dew because it was doing NOTHING for my hair just living it dry. So with that said I blame the dryness I felt on the hair dew not the KCCC.

My curls look  defined yet dry

I really wished I would had used something else under this gel. Maybe something creamy like SM SheaButter Leave-in. I know for a fact that I would’ve been able to get atleast 4 days out of this hair…but since that wasn’t the case I decided to wash it out after 2.

Here are a few more pics so you can see what I mean about the “dryness” look

Overall I am happy that I was able to get my hand on another jar of Kccc. I am excited to put it to use with the different leave-ins I have bought since my last jar. As for the Oyin Hair dew..stay tuned for the review.

My KCCC WnG ♥

****

Send me pics of your KCCC WnG!
Posted on September 10, 2012, in Products Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m super protein sensitive and this made my hair REALLY dry and crunchy. I was really upset. I’m pretty much done with kinky curly products LOL…

  2. KCCC is one of my staple products, but I also find that it can leave my hair feeling, not necessarily dry, but hard. To combat the stiffness I try to make sure to use it sparingly and to make sure my hair is well saturated–the drier my hair is when it’s applied, the harder it will be. I also can only use it on day 1, from days 2-7, I only use it on unruly pieces (sparingly) or my hair will be mad at me and throw a dry/hard tantrum lol.

  3. Where can i find the swap boards? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

