Review: Hair Therapy Wrap

Purchased 6/28/12

Where can this be purchased? Curlmart.com & brushlove.com just type it into the search bar

Price: $29.95-21.95  I bought it on sale at Curlmart for $17.56

Company Claim: The Hair Therapy Wrap applies gentle heat for up to 30 minutes, encouraging conditioner to penetrate the hair follicles. It helps activate treatments, hot oils, or re-constructors and can also help to control a dry, flaky scalp. You can use the Hair Therapy Wrap while bathing, relaxing, or around the house. Dry, damaged hair can now be saved by Hair Therapy Wrap™. It allows your favorite deep conditioning products to penetrate more deeply than ever. Hair that’s damaged by the climate, heat-styling, coloring and bleaching, now has a solution to get more bang for your buck as you reverse damage.

Features & Benefits:

• Strengthens the hair and hair cuticle to reduce breakage
• Deeply nourishes the hair roots and scalp
• Softens and makes hair more manageable
• Improves hair texture

My Thoughts

I’ve never had luck with deep conditioning my hair whether relaxed or natural. When I went natural I experimented with different deep conditioner (CJ curl rehab,GVP CB,ect) under a hooded dryer and nothing worked. My hair just felt the same. No difference at all. It was like the product were just sitting on top of my hair. So i decided to give up on DC even though I wanted to experience what everyone talks about.

I learned about the Heutiful hair steamer from Taren on her youtube channel but I didn’t want to buy something else to clutter my already small room but I’ll get it one day. Then a few weeks after that while reading the forums I stumbled upon a thread regarding the  Hair Therapy Wrap. I also saw that Shelli on Hairscapades  reviewed it and she liked hers. So when Curlmart had their 20%off +free shipping in June,I snatched one.

Here are the directions from the site:

  • Place a gel pack in each pocket of the Hair Therapy Wrap.
  • There are 2 rounded side gel packs and 1 middle gel pack.
  • Make sure that gel packs lay flat in each compartment.
  • Heat to desired temperature in a microwave  (I do 45 secs then I add 15 secs after)
  • Place disposable inner plastic cap on head.
  • Fit Hair Therapy Wrap over plastic cap with tail part towards back.
  • Then at the base of the neck, simply twist the fabric firmly for a snug, drip-proof fit. Use the hook and loop strip to secure tail on the top of the wrap.

~

I really really like this thing. I can clean around the house or watch tv while deep conditioning my hair. The gel packs get quite warm and warmth last for about 30 minutes…unlike a hot towel which doesn’t even last a minute..smh. The wrap is made out of a felxible terry material. One thing different that I did noticed from mine is that mines has 2 horizontal velcro strips on the top instead of 1 vertical one. So instead of me twisting the flaps at the base, I crisscross them to the opposite side(see pics)

I now DC my hair once a week for 30mins. My hair feels awesome after I wash out whatever product I have in. Very Moisturized and not over conditioned at all. I use a disposable plastic cap under. I just wish there was another gel pack on the nape area because I feel like that area doesn’t get the “heat” from the treatment so I have to gather all my hair on top of my head. I hope the gel packs last for awhile since there are currently no replacements. ;( Anyways..I will continue using this thing! It has made my “Must Have” list. I would recommend this to everyone that is on a budget and can’t afford the Heutiful Steamer.

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

*******************************************************************

What is your method of DC’ing?

Posted on September 6, 2012, in Accesories and Tools. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It’s a great concept, I have one too. But I wish it was larger, I’ve got a lot of hair and a larger head than most. The cap doesn’t cover all my head/hair, means I have to do two treatments – I move the cap to what was not covered and do again. So I get two treatments on 95% of my hair, guess that’s good. But recommend – can do work around house, even take a nap and it’s not expensive.

  2. The same as yours, except I have the older version.

  1. Pingback: B-day Bash Giveaway #3: HairTherapyWrap & LBOS Body Butter « Curls2Envy

Leave a Reply

