Please Welcome: Lea Robinson

♥ the fro

Describe yourself in 100 words or less.                                                                              Only 100 words? I don’t think that is possible for me, but I will try lol! Very playful and pretty much amazing!

How long have you been natural and why did you chose to go natural?                     I have been natural for 21 months now. I went natural because I wanted a change. It was really an Angela Bassett “Waiting to Exhale” moment for me. I was tired of my dull hair that never grew past a certain length. I wanted to get to know my hair and true texture beyond the chemicals that tortured my scalp on a bi-monthly basis.

Did you transition or big chop?                                                                                                     I attempted transitioning. That attempt only lasted for about a month. I was in my bathroom looking at my hair and the next thing I know I picked up a pair of scissors and cut a huge chuck right in the middle of my head. It was truly and outer body experience lol! After going through the stages of grief from cutting my hair off, an instant feeling of liberation came over me and I have not looked back since.

How did others (family, friends, colleagues) react to your decision to go natural? What was your response to them? How do they feel now?                                      Many of my family members couldn’t believe what I had done. I always had a pretty good length of hair on my head, so for them to see me almost bald was a shock. My husband was very supportive even though I’m sure he thought some things in the beginning that he will not share with me. Haha! He ABSOLUTELY LOVES my natural hair now.

What is/was your biggest hair challenge and how have you dealt with it?                  My hair is very thick and needs moisture at all moments of the day it seems. I also have the tightest curls, so I had a big problem with the dreaded “fairy knots” for a while. The thing that has helped me combat all of these obstacles is moisturizing and twisting my hair on a nightly basis. I find that my hair will stay moisturized for the remainder of the day this way. I also pay very close attention to my ends. I moisturize and seal them on a nightly basis as well and I make sure to trim every 3-4 months.

What do you love most about your natural hair and/or about being natural?          I love the versatility that comes along with it. I am able to re-invent myself depending on my mood on a daily basis by just simply switching up the hairstyle.  I have been told my by husband that I am even more confident and sassy as well lol!

What is your current regimen?                                                                                                 My regimen is fairly simple. I co-wash my hair on a weekly basis. I have given up the shampoo because it tends to dry my hair out even more. I detangle, condition, moisturize and seal my hair on a nightly basis followed by twisting into two strand twists. I make sure to trim every 3-4 months as needed.

What is the product “you cant live without”?I am not a really big product junkie. My only staple item at this time would be my water spray bottle mixed with vitamin E oil. Everything else is pretty interchangeable for me right now.

What is your “go to” style (share a picture of it, if you have one!)?                                  I LOVE MY PUFF hands down!!!!!

How often do you cut/trim your hair? How do you cut it (salon, DIY, straight, curly, in twists)? If you go to a salon, would you recommend it?                            I trim my ends myself every 3-4 months.

Do you have a “hair inspiration”? If so who?                                                                           I have so many “hair inspirations”! Every natural chica that I see rocking her natural hair without a care of what anybody says or thinks is an inspiration for me to keep doing the same as well!

Where can we find you online?                                                                                                      You can find me on facebook at www.facebook.com/naturalchick85 . I also have a natural hair t-shirt business called Kinky Chicks. Check us out at www.kinky-chicks.com and like our fan page at www.facebook.com/kinkychicks.And finally I have another website that I just recently launched called  “That Natural Hair Moment”. Check the website out at www.thatnaturalhairmoment.com as well! Whew that was a lot!

What advice would you give someone who is contemplating going natural and/or becoming discouraged with their natural journey?                                                If you are going to go natural, do it for yourself and nobody else. It can be a trying journey, but it is very well worth it in the end. Talking with other natural ladies that are on this journey helps tremendously with any discouragement you may feel. So network and stay focused on the goal you have for yourself!

Anything else that you’d like to add?                                                                                          I love being natural…that is all!

**********************************************************

Want to be a guest on Curls2Envy? Please click HERE.

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Curls2Envy Guest. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

