QOTD: What hair color do you use?

I get this question ALOT.. in person, in forums and in dreams…lol im joking about the last one.

I need to take you on a lil color journey before I answer the question, but before that I want to say that I dye my hair because my hair is 20% grey. Yes you read correctly, I’ve had silver strands since 17. They seem to multiply every year.

*

My natural hair color is Dark brown almost black

Relaxed hair. long in front and less than an inch in the back.

I have ALWAYS loved red/burgundy hair. So when I decided to go natural I decided that since I wasn’t dealing with the chemicals from relaxers it was ok for me to start dying my hair without the double effects of both. So I went to sally’s and picked 2 colors and mixed them.

The colors where L’Oreal Excellence HiColor Magenta & L’Oreal Excellence HiColor Intense Red (see below)

^^hair looks limp because of EcoStyler (protein ekk)^^

I was was feeling the color but not the dryness and the quick fading.

I then decided to experiment with Henna. Mind you.. this was before knowing that I was protein-sensitive.

Henna acts like a protein.

a week after henna

I personally do not like henna for the simple fact that is does act like a protein making my hair feel super dry/tangles. Plus my hair had a copper color to it…nope didn’t like it.

I’ve read in a few place that you aren’t suppose to dye over henna using a permanent because it’ll turn green, blah, blah. Well I was not going to have tri-colored hair and big chop was in an option. YUP I dyed over the henna, did it turn green or had any ill effects? NO

That color was and has been…dun dun dun….

Garnier Nutrisse Medium Intense Auburn for Dark Hair (R2)

I freaking love this color! My curls felt great after using it. The red popped big time.

The day after I dyed it.

What I really like about it is that  the red on my non hennaed hair almost matches my natural dark hair..weird right. Obviously the ends remain brighter because that is were the henna remains until its trimmed of over time. I have no complaint about this hair dye.

After this post I better be able to find some on the shelf. 😉

OAN..these greys are disrespectful!! I need a touch up soon.

SMH….

*****

Do you have a question for me? Email it to Curls2Envy@gmail.com
Posted on August 17, 2012, in Just Hair, Products Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. HAAAAAAAAAAAA @ you saying the grays were disrespectful hahaha! I feel the same way about mine, especially the one that it peeking through on my hairline in the front. The color is beautiful and luscious looking!!

Leave a Reply

