Please Welcome: Tomeshia Mckenzie

Au Naturale!

Describe yourself in 100 words or less. 
  Determined, Storing-Willed, Encouraged,Smart, Beautiful, Caring, Loving, Shy (when I first meet you), Unique, Undefined, and most of all I’m just me!
How long have you been natural and why did you chose to go natural?
I have been natural for 10 months.(Sept.23rd will make a year!!) I chose to go natural because I got tired of having flat hair after just getting a perm and feeling as if my hair had no life to it. I also got tired of being your “typical high school girl” who always gets perms.I’ve always strived to be a unique female and I felt as if going natural would be one of the ways since I live in a small town where there are hardly any naturals. I also decided to go natural because my hair was barely growing and was neck length. When I was younger and didn’t get perms my hair was all the way down my back.
Did you transition or big chop?
I transitioned for 5 months and then decided that I was officially ready to divorce my permed ends and big chopped! Oh the happiness I felt!
How did others (family, friends, colleagues) react to your decision to go natural? What was your response to them? How do they feel now?
Overall, all of my family, friends, and strangers were happy for me and always giving me compliments. As mentioned before I live in a small town where all bow down to getting the creamy crack every 6-8 weeks. In this little town of mine people do not like change so of course some of my classmates asked me the infamous questions: “Why you cut your hair?” ” You shouldn’t have did that, your hair was already long?” “Are you going to ever get a perm or you gone let it stay like that?” There have been many more crazy questions and responses. Anyone can tell you though that I’m the type of person who can care less about what others say or think about me and my hair so some stuff I would just answer politely. Some people were trying to be funny and I had to put them in there places! Especially the ones who never have a hair-do or barely have any hair. Eventually everyone got used to it and everyone, I mean literally everyone including the teachers, bus drivers, custodians, girls, boys, and other randoms I’d never seen in my life or in the hallways started coming up to me and complimenting me and telling me how much they loved or either liked my hair.  I can tell you one thing, having a postitive attitude toward my hair  has showed others that natural kinky (4c) hair is healthy hair and this has even left some of the “die-hard creamy crack” girls  and others thinking about going natural!
What is/was your biggest hair challenge/obstacle and how have you dealt with it?
My most biggest hair challenge most definitely had to be dealing with moisture and styling! I just couldn’t seem to find the right products or styles. I started doing research and watching YT videos which helped me tremendously both product and styling wise with the reviews and tutorials!
What do you love most about your natural hair and/or about being natural?
EVERYTHING! From the various styles that can be created, the healthiness of it, the uniqueness and motivation it has given me and even others is just not enough to put in words. Let’s just say I’m very grateful as  a teen to be natural!!
What is your current regimen?
I don’t have a set regimen since my hair tends to get “bored” with products. I always end up having to switch up with my products. As of now, I love to wash my hair with Nothing But Clarifying Shampoo and conditioning with Nothing But Cleansing Conditioner! When my hair needs some extra pampering I deep condition it with Brendita’s Body Works Phat Head Speedy Recovery in the Super Strengthening Banana. For everyday styling, I love to use the Curls Cashmere Jelly, Beautiful Textures Moisture Whipped Butter, and either Pura Body Naturals Cupuacu Butter or Original Moxie Hair Bling depending on how much moisture retention my hair needs that day.
What is the product “you cant live without”?
I can not, repeat, Can Not live with out my Curls Cashmere Jelly!!!!! Having 4c hair I’ve searched high and low for something that would help give me moisture and also hold it in! I love this stuff, I don’t even have to use water before applying, its just that moisturizing and works great alone or with other products! This is my number one staple product!
What is your “go to” style (share a picture of it, if you have one!)?
My favorite go to style is the simple ‘fro with a flower on the side!
How often do you cut/trim your hair?
How do you cut it (salon, DIY, straight, curly, in twists)? If you go to a salon, would you recommend it (if yes, please feel free to give the name and location to help other naturals in your area!).
I trim my hair whenever needed. I always make sure to get it done at a salon on straightened hair to make it easy for me to see my length and make sure no extra hair is cut! I definitely recommend getting your hair trimmed by a professional! There are many places to go to in Atlanta! (I haven’t found “that” salon yet for me though lol)
Do you have a “hair inspiration”? If so who?
Definitely Janell Monae and Nikki Mae, after seeing Nikki Mae’s videos I was so eager to Big Chop that I had started trimming little snippets of my hair because I just couldn’t make it till Friday (it was on a Tuesday I got the urge, but I did make it to that Friday lol)
Where can we find you online?
You can find me on my blog @: http://naturallyuniquesistas.blogspot.com/
Twitter: @NaturallyMeena
What advice would you give someone who is contemplating going natural and/or becoming discouraged with their natural journey?
DON’T GIVE UP OR GET DISCOURAGED! Every natural or aspiring natural will have those moments at times where they consider creamy crack! You’re just setting yourself up for regrets if you fall to these thoughts! Always remember there are many naturals out there who would love to give you some support if you decided to go natural or are natural and are at a awkward stage with your hair! Stay strong and remember that natural hair is as real and healthy as it can possibly get! Always try to maintain your hair and when you feel it’s getting to difficult get a protective style to give you and your hair a break.
***********************************************************

Want to be a guest on Curls2 Envy? Please click HERE.

Posted on August 15, 2012, in Curls2Envy Guest. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

