Hair Story: Tierra Jackson

 I have been natural since October 2, 2011. Although I haven’t had a perm since I was 13, I relied heavily on heat and regularly mistreated my hair in ignorance. In September of last year, a friend from my church took me to a Curly Nikki meet up downtown LA. I was sooo blown away by everyone’s healthy natural hair, I wanted to go natural!
I’ve always admired natural hair, but like many others,  I didn’t feel comfortable or confident wearing my natural texture because it wasn’t like a bi-racial person’s hair (type 3). I thought I would look bad with “nappy” hair, so I kept my hair flatironed or in a full weave. In doing that, I damaged my hair over the years. By the time I went natural, my hair was uneven and broken in many places. I had to do a mini-chop! I took off about 3-5 inches, depending on the area and the damage. Then, I just had to figure out a healthy hair routine…
I researched using Natural Hair blogs (my favs were CN and 4cnaturalhair.com!) and watched a ton of youtube vids on how to begin your natural hair journey. One of the first things I did was learn my hair type because I knew it would help me with what products to buy for my hair. I discovered I am a 4a w/ 3c in the crown.
My hair routine consists of: pre-pooing with coconut oil the night before, then I wake up and wash my hair with diluted shampoo (I use Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle with baking soda mixed with filtered water). After that, I deep condition with Lustresilk Sheabutter/Mango Cholesterol, coconut oil, Hello Hydration, and honey mixed together. I usually allow that to sit for an hour, then I rinse. Every now and then, I add coconut milk to the conditoning mix because it softens my hair sooo much! After i’ve conditioned, I use the LOC Method to moisturize my tresses. I start with either Giovanni Direct Leave-in or Kinky Curly Knot Today, then I seal with my personal shea butter mix and finally use Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie or Beautiful Textures’ Moisture Butter to help define my curls. I usually two-strand twist my hair for it to dry. I like to use a mix of JBCO, WGHO, tea tree oil, and peppermint oil on my scalp; it soothes it and it smells great! Lol… For my moisturizing spritz, I use water, lavender eo, and veggie glycerin… Love it! Lol
Living in Southern California, i’m kind of spoiled as it relates to the weather. We don’t have much humidity nor do we have much rain or wind to destroy the hair! I am an avid user of vegie glycerin because of it’s softening effects on my hair. I use it in my spritz, also in my shea butter mix. I am loving this natural hair journey! My hair is healthier, thicker and my badly thinned edges are slowly growing back in! I have been able to retain a little over 4 inches in these 10 months (I trim my hair every 8-10 weeks). I am very satisfied with my progress. I am also embracing the fierceness of being a natural. I get compliments daily on my hair and I have some family and friends that have gone natural as a result of watching my hair journey. I even enjoy the new and different attention I receive from men. Lol.. I started an informal picture blog on my Facebook page that documents my journey as it progresses. Now that I have become natural and learned the proper way to take care of my hair, I will never go back! I’ve fallen in love with my God-given hair! This is a lifelong commitment!
Places where Tierra can be found:
CurlyNikki.com sn: Divacentric
Facebook: Tierra Jackson
Instagram:  TeeAuNatural
***********************************************************

Want to be a guest on Curls2 Envy? Please click HERE.

Posted on August 12, 2012, in Curl Talk, Curls2Envy Guest. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment