Protein Sensitivity in Natural Hair

Protein Sensitivity in Natural Hair

derby city naturals

If you’ve followed my blog posts you may have seen me mention that I am protein sensitive.  I get asked about protein sensitivity all the time: what is it, how do you know if you have it, is there a cure for it; so this will be a post dedicated to protein and my hair’s general distaste for it in products.  Long before I ran across the term protein sensitivity I always knew I had it.  Even back in my relaxed days when everyone else was going ga-ga over hair reconstructioner treatments or during the silk amino acid product craze I knew my hair did not like it. How did I know? Whenever I used a heavy protein laced product my hair felt coarse, dry and tangled like a clump of straw.  It felt horrible and looked worse then before I used the application.  I began to find ways to…

View original post 825 more words

Posted on July 12, 2012, in Curl Talk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

