HairCrush: Korrie Kelley

1237180_606140546096242_1005590643_n

Describe yourself in 100 words or less.
Hi! My name is Korrie Kelley from Korrie’s Korner, and I LOVE natural hair! I am a wife of 13 years to my childhood sweetheart, and we have two handsome sons ages 9 & 7. I absolutely love having a family. It doesn’t matter what we do, just as long as we are all together. Korrie Kelley

How long have you been natural and why did you chose to go natural?
I have been natural now for 2 years and 4 months. It is the best thing that I have ever done concerning my hair! My cousin did the BC, deciding to go natural, and watching her hair start to grow out inspired me. I let go of the creamy crack about a month later and never looked back:)

Did you transition or big chop?
I wasn’t as brave as my cousin, so I decided to transition. Korrie Kelley

How did others (family, friends, colleagues) react to your decision to go natural? What was your response to them? How do they feel now?
At first I didn’t get a lot of support, but thank goodness my husband, who had begged me for 10 years to go natural, was my biggest cheerleader!! He loves it! Of course my Mom and bestfriend were very supporting as well. Now, everyone loves it! I guess once people got over the shock of my non relaxed hair, they starting accepting it. I didn’t really care if they accepted it or not! I liked it and that’s all that mattered:)

What is/was your biggest hair challenge/obstacle and how have you dealt with it?
It used to be during the transition time growing out those relaxed ends. It was tough dealing with two different textures. The two different text. responded to humidity differently. Now my biggest obstacle is having the patience as my hair is growing longer..SHRINKAGE!!!

What do you love most about your natural hair and/or about being natural?
What I love now is how versatile my hair is. I can alot more things with it that I couldn’t do before. I feel like I am finally free to be me! I have this huge accessory that I can rock now!!!

What is your current regimen?
Here lately I have been doing a lot of experimenting for my page, but the majority of what I do right now are twist outs. I was the wash and go queen, but I started having trouble with my hair getting really knotted up. So I started the twist outs again to help with keeping the tangles out. I co-wash once a week with either Tresseme naturals or here recently I’ve been using the As I Am coconut cleansing co-wash.. I Love it! Then I apply my leave in either KCKnot Today, Shea moisture curl and style milk or the SM hair smoothie. As i am twisting, I’m sealing my ends with sweet almond oil. For my wash and go’s I love Kinky Curly products!!!PhotoGrid_1381601854342

What is the product “you cant live without”?
Conditioner…and I love the BeeMine coconut cream bee hold curling butter!

What is your “go to” style?
When my husband lets me get away with this style, (he loves it in a low, romantic looking ponytail), I love to wear a high pineapple with a swoop bang pinned back on the side. See picture of both ways.2013-09-21_08-40-58_862540693_602164296493867_1977857196_n

How often do you cut/trim your hair? How do you cut it (salon, DIY, straight, curly, in twists)? If you go to a salon, would you recommend it (if yes, please feel free to give the name and location to help other naturals in your area!).
I trim as needed, but usually it’s every 6 months. I trim my hair in twists. The Salon I use for my color is K Salon and Spa. My childhood friend works there and is awesome in coloring. She loves to play in my hair. She calls it her dream hair! IMG_1865

Do you have a “hair inspiration”? If so who?
I love Jess (Mahogany Curls). When I first went natural I watched tons of her videos. They really helped me learn a lot!

Where can we find you online?
Right now I am on Instagram @korrieskorner, and I also have a Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/pages/Korries-Korner/591992204177743. I am in the process of getting a Youtube video up and down the road a blog.

What advice would you give someone who is contemplating going natural and/or becoming discouraged with their natural journey?
Go for it! Be patient and to give your hair lots of love. It’s not about whether or not you have “good” hair. We all have good hair! Everyone is different and that is what I love. Be unique. Embrace your “youness”.

Anything else that you’d like to add?
Thank you so much for asking me to do this! You are such a haircrush! It is an honor:)

1391960_166200736911728_1871998118_n

*********************************

Want to share your HairStory? Then find the HairStory that applies to you here, answer the interview questions, and e-mail them (with 5-10 pictures) to Curls2Envy@gmail.com!!! 

Posted on October 16, 2013, in Curls2Envy Guest. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So cute, awesome hair!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,779 other followers

